The Shakespeare Conference: SHK 19.0126 Monday, 25 February 2008
From: Hardy M. Cook <
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
>
Date: Monday, February 25, 2008
Subject: Problem with Blacklisting
Dear SHAKSPEReans,
It appears that the 90 or so persons whose e-mail addresses were
automatically deleted by listserv last week are about to be removed again.
The providers of these accounts seem to be treating the SHAKSPER domain
as a SPAM distributer and are thus blacklisting SHAKSPER and messages
from the SHAKSPER domain: i.e.,
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
,
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
, and so on (12.101.12.90).
I will see what Eric and I can do from this end, but I would appreciate
it if the people who were deleted last week were to contact their
Internet providers and inform the provider that SHAKSPER is not a
SPAMMER nor are messages from 12.101.12.90 to be blacklisted.
The error messages I am getting are from *@hotmail.com, *@MSN.COM,
*@bellsouth.net, *@OPTONLINE.NET, *
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
, and several other
accounts in Europe and Israel.
The reported reasons for blocking messages from SHAKSPER are the following:
1) . . . mail not accepted from blacklisted IP address [12.101.12.90]
2) . . . 12.101.12.90 is blocked domain (*)
3) Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. Reasons for
rejection may be related to content with spam-like characteristics or
IP/domain reputation problems. you are not an email/network admin please
contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help.
4) Message rejected as spam by Content Filtering.
I can assure you that any SPAM appearing to originate from shaksper.net
are the product of spoofing and are not being mailed from the SHAKSPER
server.
This is the message I sent to Symantec to report that SHAKSPER is being
falsely blocked:
Hello,
I believe that my listserv SHAKSPER and its domain 12.101.12.90 have
been falsely blocked for SPAM activity.
Now in its eighteen year, SHAKSPER is one of the oldest academic
listservs in the world with more than 1,200 members from 64 countries.
I can assure you that the SHAKSPER server is highly secure and that
there is no SPAMMing activity from it.
Any SPAM messages that are appearing to originate from shaksper.net are
the product of spoofing and are not being mailed from the SHAKSPER server.
If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me at
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
,
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
, or
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
.
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Hardy M. Cook, Ph.D.
Professor of English
Editor of SHAKSPER
www.shaksper.net
BOTTOM-LINE: If SHAKSPER continues to be blacklisted by the accounts
that were deleted last week, then those accounts will be automatically
deleted again: "Subscribers will be automatically deleted from the list
when delivery errors have been reported for a period of 4 days or more,
or when 15 delivery errors have been received, whichever occurs first.
Monitoring will cease after 5 days without any reported errors."
I will continue to do what I can, but I encourage affected members to
write to their Internet providers and to explain that SHAKSPER is not
SPAMMING.
Thank you,
Hardy
_______________________________________________________________
S H A K S P E R: The Global Shakespeare Discussion List
Hardy M. Cook,
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
The S H A K S P E R Web Site <http://www.shaksper.net>
DISCLAIMER: Although SHAKSPER is a moderated discussion list, the
opinions expressed on it are the sole property of the poster, and the
editor assumes no responsibility for them.
|