The Shakespeare Conference: SHK 16.0337  Monday, 21 February 2005

From:           Mary Rosenberg <This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.>
Date:           Saturday, 19 Feb 2005 10:42:26 -0800
Subject:        Update on Rosenberg Poetry Prizes

Substantial prizes have just been awarded for the first Dorothy Sargent
Rosenberg Poetry Contest.
On February 5, 2005 the following major prizewinners were announced as

$10,000 to Melisa Cahnmann of Athens, Georgia

$7,500 each to Christopher Goodrich of Brooklyn, New York  and Emily
Rosko of Palo Alto, California

$5,000 each to Nan Cohen of Van Nuys, California  and Tess Taylor of
Amhurst, Massachusetts

$2,500 to Nicholas Mohlmann of Springfield, Virginia; Emily Orzech of
Northampton, Massachusetts; Tara Prescott of Claremont, California;  and
Allison Seay of  Greensboro, North Carolina

$1,000 to Kathryn Hogan of Bellingham, Washington;  Joe Kraus of
Kingston, Pennsylvania; Amy Letter of  San Francisco, California; and
Dawn Lonsinger of Ithaca, New York.

Nine Honorable Mention prizes of $100 were also awarded to Daphne Dang,
Lorraine Duran, Jim Fisher, Daniel Hanna, Catherine Hope, David
Livewell, Rosaleen Nguyen, Ivan Ortiz and Leslie Jones Sysko.

In this, its first year, the contest received 154 entries from all over
America and from Australia, Belgium, Canada, England and Malaysia.

The contest was established by Marvin Rosenberg, Professor Emeritus in
the Department of Theatre Arts at the University of California at
Berkeley, in memory of his wife, Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg. Dorothy's
published work, taken from her book of poems Look Again, can now be
found on the website, www.DorothyPrizes.org

It was Marvin's special dream to encourage young poets and to help them
continue with their writing. He remembered his own early struggles
during the depression and how he and Dorothy had been distracted from
their work by financial anxieties. Marvin became an eminent Professor
and published several highly acclaimed scholarly books on Shakespeare as
well as a number of plays, two of which won prizes. He knew how
important encouragement can be to a writer. In realizing his own dream
he hoped to help other young people reach theirs.

After Marvin's death in February 2003, according to his wishes, his son
Barr and his second wife, Mary, set up the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg
Memorial Fund and established these Annual Poetry Prizes. Prizes ranging
from $1000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded each year for the
finest lyric poems celebrating the human spirit. The 2005 contest will
shortly be advertised in Poets and Writers and in other places and
publications around the English-speaking world. Entrants must be under
the age of forty. They may be published or unpublished writers, but only
unpublished poems will be eligible for the competition. Each entrant may
submit one to three separate poems, only one of which may be more than
30 lines in length. The closing date for entries this year is November
6, 2005 and entries, accompanied  by a $10 entry fee, should be sent to
the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund, a registered charity based
at PO Box 2306, Orinda, California, 94563. Money raised by the entry fee
will be fed back into the fund to serve toward future prizes. Further
details can be found at www.DorothyPrizes.org. Prize-winning poems will
also be published on the website.

This year's major prize-winners have already begun to establish their

Melisa Cahnmann is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Language
and Literacy Education at the University of Georgia. She has published
several of her poems and articles in a variety of literary journals and
is currently enrolled in the low residency MFA program at New England
College. Her research, teaching and poetry often focus on bilingualism,
cross-cultural identity, and multicultural education. She has been
writing poetry "ever since she can remember."

Christopher Goodrich is graduating in July from the MFA program in
Poetry at New England College and has been published in several literary
journals including, most recently, The New York Quarterly. He runs a
poetry reading series at the Stella Adler Studio in New York City and is
also Managing Director of its Poets Theatre.

Emily Rosko is a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University and plans to
pursue a Ph.D program in literature and creative writing. She won her
first poetry prize ($50) in the fourth grade, and has been winning
prizes ever since. Her first book of poetry was a finalist in the 2004
National Poetry Series and the Ohio State University Press/ The Journal
Poetry Prize.

Nan Cohen is a past recipient of an NEA Literature Fellowship and a
Wallace Steger Fellowship. She has been writing poetry since the age of
fifteen and has had poems published in several magazines and
anthologies. Her first book of poetry, Rope Bridge, is scheduled for
publication this March. She teaches English at the Fashion Institute of
Design  and Merchandising in Los Angeles.

Tess Taylor is currently a Copeland Fellow in residence at Amherst
College. She has had poems published in various journals and won the
Morton Marr poetry prize from the Southwest Review in 2004. Her
chapbook, The Misremembered World, was selected by Eavan Boland for the
  Poetry Society of America's inaugural New York Chapbook Fellowship and
was published in 2003.


Prizes ranging from $1,000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded for
the finest lyric poems celebrating the human spirit. The contest is open
to all writers under the age of 40 on November 6, 2005. All poets,
published or unpublished, are eligible to enter, but only previously
unpublished poems are eligible for prizes. Submissions must be in
English: no translations, please.

Each entrant may submit one to three separate poems. Only one of the
poems may be more than thirty lines in length. Each poem must be printed
on a separate sheet. Please submit two copies of each entry, with your
name and address clearly marked on each page of one copy only. Please
also include an index card with your name and address, phone number,
email address and the titles of your submitted poems.

Entries should be mailed to Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes, PO
Box 2306,
Orinda, California 94563 to arrive no later than November 6, 2005. Poems
submitted will not be returned. Please see our website for further
information: www.DorothyPrizes.org.

Notice of prize-winners will be published on our website on February 5,
2006, and winners will be contacted shortly before that time.

There is a $10 entry fee and checks should be made out to the Dorothy
Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund. The entry fee will be waived for
overseas entrants who do not have access to a US account.

S H A K S P E R: The Global Shakespeare Discussion List
Hardy M. Cook, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The S H A K S P E R Web Site <http://www.shaksper.net>

DISCLAIMER: Although SHAKSPER is a moderated discussion list, the
opinions expressed on it are the sole property of the poster, and the
editor assumes no responsibility for them.

Subscribe to Our Feeds


Make a Gift to SHAKSPER

Consider making a gift to support SHAKSPER.