The Shakespeare Conference: SHK 16.1475  Wednesday, 7 September 2005

From: 		Mary Rosenberg <This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.>
Date: 		Tuesday, 06 Sep 2005 10:47:06 -0700
Subject: 	Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Competition


On February 5, 2005 the following major prizewinners were announced as 

$10,000 to Melisa Cahnmann of Athens, Georgia

$7,500 each to Christopher Goodrich of Brooklyn, New York and Emily 
Rosko of Palo Alto, California

$5,000 each to Nan Cohen of Van Nuys, California and Tess Taylor of 
Amherst, Massachusetts

$2,500 to Nicholas Mohlmann of Springfield, Virginia; Emily Orzech of 
Northampton, Massachusetts; Tara Prescott of Claremont, California; and 
Allison Seay of  Greensboro, North Carolina

$1,000 to Kathryn Hogan of Bellingham, Washington; Joe Kraus of 
Kingston, Pennsylvania; Amy Letter of San Francisco, California; and 
Dawn Lonsinger of Ithaca, New York.

Nine Honorable Mention prizes of $100 were also awarded to Daphne Dang, 
Lorraine Duran, Jim Fisher, Daniel Hanna, Catherine Hope, David 
Livewell, Rosaleen Nguyen, Ivan Ortiz and Leslie Jones Sysko.

In this, its first year, the contest received 154 entries from all over 
America and from Australia, Belgium, Canada, England and Malaysia.

The contest was established by Marvin Rosenberg, Professor Emeritus in 
the Department of Theatre Arts at the University of California at 
Berkeley, in memory of his wife, Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg. Dorothy's 
published work, taken from her book of poems Look Again, can now be 
found on the website, www.DorothyPrizes.org

It was Marvin's special dream to encourage young poets and to help them 
continue with their writing. He remembered his own early struggles 
during the depression and how he and Dorothy had been distracted from 
their work by financial anxieties. Marvin became an eminent Professor 
and published several highly acclaimed scholarly books on Shakespeare as 
well as a number of plays, two of which won prizes. He knew how 
important encouragement can be to a writer. In realizing his own dream 
he hoped to help other young people reach theirs.

After Marvin's death in February 2003, according to his wishes, his son 
Barr and his second wife, Mary, set up the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg 
Memorial Fund and established these Annual Poetry Prizes. Prizes ranging 
from $1000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded each year for the 
finest lyric poems celebrating the human spirit. The 2005 contest will 
shortly be advertised in Poets and Writers and in other places and 
publications around the English-speaking world. Entrants must be under 
the age of forty. They may be published or unpublished writers, but only 
unpublished poems will be eligible for the competition. Each entrant may 
submit one to three separate poems, only one of which may be more than 
30 lines in length. The closing date for entries this year is November 
6, 2005 and entries, accompanied  by a $10 entry fee, should be sent to 
the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund, a registered charity based 
at PO Box 2306, Orinda, California, 94563. Money raised by the entry fee 
will be fed back into the fund to serve toward future prizes. Further 
details can be found at www.DorothyPrizes.org. Prize-winning poems will 
also be published on the website.

This year's major prize-winners have already begun to establish their 

Melisa Cahnmann is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Language 
and Literacy Education at the University of Georgia. She has published 
several of her poems and articles in a variety of literary journals and 
is currently enrolled in the low residency MFA program at New England 
College. Her research, teaching and poetry often focus on bilingualism, 
cross-cultural identity, and multicultural education. She has been 
writing poetry "ever since she can remember."

Christopher Goodrich is graduating in July from the MFA program in 
Poetry at New England College and has been published in several literary 
journals including, most recently, The New York Quarterly. He runs a 
poetry reading series at the Stella Adler Studio in New York City and is 
also Managing Director of its Poets Theatre.

Emily Rosko is a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University and plans to 
pursue a Ph.D program in literature and creative writing. She won her 
first poetry prize ($50) in the fourth grade, and has been winning 
prizes ever since. Her first book of poetry was a finalist in the 2004 
National Poetry Series and the Ohio State University Press/ The Journal 
Poetry Prize.

Nan Cohen is a past recipient of an NEA Literature Fellowship and a 
Wallace Steger Fellowship. She has been writing poetry since the age of 
fifteen and has had poems published in several magazines and 
anthologies. Her first book of poetry, Rope Bridge, is scheduled for 
publication this March. She teaches English at the Fashion Institute of 
Design  and Merchandising in Los Angeles.

Tess Taylor is currently a Copeland Fellow in residence at Amherst 
College. She has had poems published in various journals and won the 
Morton Marr poetry prize from the Southwest Review in 2004. Her 
chapbook, The Misremembered World, was selected by Eavan Boland for the 
Poetry Society of America's inaugural New York Chapbook Fellowship and 
was published in 2003.


Prizes ranging from $1,000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded for 
the finest lyric poems celebrating the human spirit. The contest is open 
to all writers under the age of 40 on November 6, 2005. All poets, 
published or unpublished, are eligible to enter, but only previously 
unpublished poems are eligible for prizes. Submissions must be in 
English: no translations, please.

Each entrant may submit one to three separate poems. Only one of the 
poems may be more than thirty lines in length. Each poem must be printed 
on a separate sheet. Please submit two copies of each entry, with your 
name and address clearly marked on each page of one copy only. Please 
also include an index card with your name and address, phone number, 
email address and the titles of your submitted poems.

Entries should be mailed to Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes, PO 
Box 2306, Orinda, California 94563 to arrive no later than November 6, 
2005. Poems submitted will not be returned. Please see our website for 
further information: www.DorothyPrizes.org.

Notice of prize-winners will be published on our website on February 5, 
2006, and winners will be contacted shortly before that time.

There is a $10 entry fee and checks should be made out to the Dorothy 
Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund. The entry fee will be waived for 
overseas entrants who do not have access to a US account.

S H A K S P E R: The Global Shakespeare Discussion List
Hardy M. Cook, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The S H A K S P E R Web Site <http://www.shaksper.net>

DISCLAIMER: Although SHAKSPER is a moderated discussion list, the 
opinions expressed on it are the sole property of the poster, and the 
editor assumes no responsibility for them.

Subscribe to Our Feeds


Make a Gift to SHAKSPER

Consider making a gift to support SHAKSPER.