The Shakespeare Conference: SHK 18.0168  Friday, 23 February 2007

From: 		Hardy M. Cook <This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.>
Date: 		Friday, February 23, 2007
Subject: 	Will Awards

The following is from PLAYBILL online.


Playbill: DC's Shakespeare Theatre to Present Will Awards March 4
By Kenneth Jones
22 Feb 2007

Avery Brooks, Patrick Page and Geraint Wyn Davies are among 15 company 
actors of Shakespeare Theatre Company in Washington, DC., to be honored 
with the William Shakespeare Award for Classical Theatre.  The 
Shakespeare Theatre Company will host its 20th Annual Gala, at which the 
Will Awards are handed out, March 4, at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium.

At the gala, the Shakespeare Theatre Company's core company members will 
be honored with the William Shakespeare Award for Classical Theatre (the 
Will Award) in recognition of their distinguished work in classical theatre.

The gala benefits the Shakespeare Theatre Company Free for All - two 
weeks of free Shakespeare presented by the company each summer at Carter 
Barron Amphitheatre - as well as other artistic programs. The gala is 
chaired by Kathleen and Chris Matthews, and Maureen and Bill Torgerson. 
The gala's honorary patrons are His Excellency the British Ambassador 
and Lady Manning.

The Shakespeare Theatre Company's core company members include Emery 
Battis, Avery Brooks, Helen Carey, Franchelle Stewart Dorn, Edward Gero, 
Philip Goodwin, Tana Hicken, Floyd King, Claire Lautier, Andrew Long, 
Patrick Page, Nancy Robinette, David Sabin, Ted van Griethuysen and 
Geraint Wyn Davies.

Together with artistic director Michael Kahn, since 1986, "these artists 
have brought to vibrant life groundbreaking, thought-provoking and 
eminently accessible classic theatre in a uniquely American style." Kahn 
stated, "Over the past 20 years, I have had the great fortune to work 
closely with these 15 supremely talented individuals. They are some of 
the most gifted artists working in the theatre, and they are the 
foundation on which the Shakespeare Theatre Company was built. We are 
thrilled to honor their contribution to classic theatre and the many 
memorable performances they have given us over the years."

The evening's events will begin with a cocktail reception and receiving 
line, followed by dinner, and then the award ceremony and program.

The Will Award is an annual honor given by the Shakespeare Theatre 
Company to a person (or persons) who has made a significant contribution 
to classical theatre in America.

Past recipients include Kevin Spacey, Jeremy Irons, Dame Judi Dench, 
Fiona Shaw, Ralph Fiennes, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Dame Maggie Smith, Hal 
Holbrook, Patrick Stewart, Sam Waterston, Lynn Redgrave, Christopher 
Walken, Morgan Freeman, Mel Gibson, Kenneth Branagh, Christopher 
Plummer, Kevin Kline, the late Joseph Papp and Shakespeare Theatre 
Company artistic director Michael Kahn.

Individual tickets and tables to the Will Awards range from $750 to $25,000.

For further information about the 20th Annual William Shakespeare Award 
for Classical Theatre, call Joanne Coutts, special events manager, at 
(202) 547-3230 ext. 2330.

The troupe is currently presenting Richard III starring Geraint Wyn 
Davies, through March 18.
Visit www.shakespearedc.org.

[Editor's Note: Congratulations to long-time SHAKSPER member, Ed Gero. -HMC]

S H A K S P E R: The Global Shakespeare Discussion List
Hardy M. Cook, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The S H A K S P E R Web Site <http://www.shaksper.net>

DISCLAIMER: Although SHAKSPER is a moderated discussion list, the 
opinions expressed on it are the sole property of the poster, and the 
editor assumes no responsibility for them.

Subscribe to Our Feeds


Make a Gift to SHAKSPER

Consider making a gift to support SHAKSPER.