The Shakespeare Conference: SHK 19.0077  Sunday, 10 February 2008

From:		Mary Rosenberg <This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.>
Date:		Thursday, 07 Feb 2008 14:28:52 -0800
Subject:	Notice of Poetry Competition

In the past Hardy has been kind enough to allow me to post the results 
of the Poetry Prizes established by Marvin Rosenberg in memory of his 
first wife, and to announce this year's competition. You can read more 
about it (including copies of the winning poems) on our website, 

I would be grateful if those of you who are involved in Creative Writing 
courses or who are members of Poetry Groups would download the entry 
information and spread the word where appropriate. Thank you.

Last year we received 700 entries and awarded 69 prizes, as follows (you 
may recognize some of the names):

$7,500 prizes  to Kelli Russell Agodon of Kingston, Washington; Srinjay 
Chakravarti of New Delhi, India; Danielle Cadena Deulen of Madison, 
Wisconsin; Jeannine Hall Gailey of Redmond, Washington; K.A Hays of 
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania; Dove Rengger-Thorpe of Coffee Camp, New South 
Wales, Australia; Rachel Richardson of Greensboro, North Carolina; Avery 
Slater of Seattle, Washington; Gillian Wegener of Modesto, California.

$5,000 prizes to Craig Arnold of Laramie, Wyoming; Nicole Beauchamp of 
Wales, Wisconsin; Robin Ekiss, San Francisco, California; Miriam Bird 
Greenberg of  Austin, Texas; Mihan Han of Richmond Hill, Ontario, 
Canada; Rebecca Lindenberg of Salt Lake City, Utah; Tod Marshall of 
Spokane, Washington; Sara Michas-Martin of San Francisco, California; 
Nancy K. Pearson of Provincetown, Massachusetts; Elizabeth Percer of 
Redwood City, California; Felicity Plunkett of  Wooloowin, Queensland, 
Australia; Eleanor Stanford of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Melissa Stein 
of San Francisco, California; Sridala Swami of Hyderabad, India; Rhett 
Iseman Trull of Greensboro, North Carolina; Amanda Turner of Portland, 

$2,500 prizes to Marla Alupoaicei of Frisco, Texas; Timothy Bradford of 
Paris, France; Temple Cone of Annapolis, Maryland; Keith Ekiss of San 
Francisco, California; Ari Finkelstein of Astoria, New York; Tess Jolly 
of Hove, East Sussex, England; Jennifer Key of Dallas, Texas; .Karen 
Llagas of San Francisco, California; Idra Novey of New York, New York..

$1,000 prizes to K.B. Ballentine of Dayton, Tennessee; Susan Briante of 
Dallas, Texas; Chad Davidson of Carrollton, Georgia; Katy Didden of 
Columbia, Missouri; Brieghan Gardner of Nottingham, New Hampshire; 
Henrietta Goodman of Missoula, Montana; Alisa Gordaneer of Victoria, 
British Columbia, Canada; Heather Hartley of Paris, France; Kristen 
Henderson of Red Hook, New York; Catherine Hope of Mt. Waverley, 
Victoria, Australia; Nina Lindsay of Oakland, California; Jenna Martin 
of Austin, Texas; Valerie B. McKee of New Haven, Connecticut; Michelle 
McLean of New Brunswick, Canada; Alexis Orgera of Santa Monica, 
California; Lisa Ortiz of San Francisco, California; Joshua Rivkin of 
San Francisco, California;Emily Rosko of Columbia, Missouri.

There were also 16 Honorable Mentions at $250 each.

Here is the announcement of this year's competition:

Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Annual Poetry Prizes, 2008

Prizes ranging from $1,000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded for 
the finest lyric poems celebrating the human spirit. The contest is open 
to all writers, published or unpublished, who will be under the age of 
40 on November 6, 2008. Entries must be postmarked on or before the 
third Saturday in October (October 18, 2008). Only previously 
unpublished poems are eligible for prizes. Names of prize winners will 
be published on our website on February 5, 2009, together with a 
selection of the winning poems. Please visit our website 
<http://www.dorothyprizes.org/>www.DorothyPrizes.org for further 
information and to read poems by previous winners.

Checklist of Contest Guidelines

* Entries must be postmarked on or before October 18, 2008.
* Past winners may re-enter until their prizes total in excess of $25,000.
* All entrants must be under the age of 40 on November 6, 2008.
* Submissions must be original, previously unpublished, and in English: 
no translations, please.
* Each entrant may submit one to three separate poems.
* Only one of the poems may be more than thirty lines in length.
* Each poem must be printed on a separate sheet.
* Submit two copies of each entry with your name, address, phone number 
and email address clearly marked on each page of one copy only.
* Include an index card with your name, address, phone number and email 
address and the titles of each of your submitted poems.
* Include a $10 entry fee payable to the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg 
Memorial Fund. (This fee is not required for entries mailed from outside 
the U.S.A.)
* Poems will not be returned. Include a stamped addressed envelope if 
you wish us to acknowledge the receipt of your entry.

Mail entries to: Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes, PO Box 2306, 
Orinda, California 94563

S H A K S P E R: The Global Shakespeare Discussion List
Hardy M. Cook, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The S H A K S P E R Web Site <http://www.shaksper.net>

DISCLAIMER: Although SHAKSPER is a moderated discussion list, the 
opinions expressed on it are the sole property of the poster, and the 
editor assumes no responsibility for them.

Subscribe to Our Feeds


Make a Gift to SHAKSPER

Consider making a gift to support SHAKSPER.